method of lizzy

preservations… for posterity

My first 5k experience

Liz runsYesterday I achieved a long-held goal: I ran my first 5k race, the ShamRock ‘n Roll. I ran with a friend as well as my dog Ginger. I knew my husband wouldn’t be interested in running the race, especially since he recently broke his leg. Instead he cheered us all on, in a “please run fast so we can go home soon” kind of way.

The race took place at Atlantic Station in Atlanta, Georgia. The course took us through shops, houses, around IKEA and partially over the bridge spanning I-85. The course was mostly flat, although there was a long, steady incline up Northside Drive.

I really enjoyed running the race, and I especially enjoyed running it with Ginger. She is the best running buddy around. She lets me set the pace and she never complains that a run is too short or too long. In fact, she doesn’t have much to say at all, which is just how I like it. I run as a solitary activity. This was one of my concerns about running a race: would I enjoy it with all the people around? I was pleased to find that I didn’t really notice the people, except as obstacles for us to pass.

My other concern about the race was my finish time. I knew that I could run 3 miles in about 40 minutes. But what if it took me longer this time? What if I came in last? What if the course was particularly horrendous? As the shot rang out and we started to run, all the “what-ifs” vanished from my mind. I concentrated on safely getting around the slow folks. This is much more difficult when running with a dog. After about a third of a mile, we found our sweet spot. We still passed other people as the race progressed, but running became easy and natural and I did not have a care in the world. I was happy to pass the first mile marker in ten and a half minutes and the second marker in about twenty-one minutes. When I saw the third mile marker, I picked up my pace. I crossed the finish line at about thirty-four and a half minutes.

Thinking about running a 5k? Don’t think about it, just sign up. I spent years thinking about running a race, and only 34 minutes actually doing it. I won’t let more than a few months go by before I repeat the experience.

March 12, 2007 - Posted by | 5k, atlanta, goals, running

2 Comments

  1. The 5K ShamRocked! 🙂

    Comment by JBT | March 13, 2007

  2. Congrats! I’m running my first 5K next weeken in ATL, a 5K over in Candler Park.

    Comment by ernise | March 13, 2007


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

