method of lizzy

preservations… for posterity

Zoloft is making me fat

zoloft blobI hate to admit it, but there it is: Zoloft is making me fat. Additionally, it’s making me tired. I can easily sleep ten hours at night and take a two-hour nap during the day… and then do the same thing the next day, and the next day. Oh yes, and there is one other unpleasant side effect: night sweats.

I’ve been on anti-depressants for about a year now. First it was Celexa, which only mildly eased my symptoms. After about six months, my doctor put me on Zoloft. I strongly resonated with the sad little Zoloft blob, so I was excited to try this medication. Some days are still better than others, but overall Zoloft has worked its magic. Once I went an entire month without even a moment of anxiety. When I do have attacks, they are less severe. Unfortunately this has come at a price, albeit one that I was willing to pay at the time.

Now may be the time to discontinue medication. I meet with my doctor on Friday. In the meantime, I am reading The Anxiety & Phobia Workbook. If I am ever to be cured of anxiety, I must change my lifestyle.

February 27, 2007 - Posted by | alternatives, anti-depressants, anxiety, crunchy, health

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

